Exposition 2013-14

January 23, 2014

The Department of Anesthesiology's Ninth Annual Research Exposition was held on Thursday, January 23, 2014. The Department welcomed a guest speaker for the program of afternoon presentations, as well as a guest judge for the poster session.The program also featured speakers from the Department of Anesthesiology, and was well-attended by faculty, fellows, residents, and laboratory staff.

During the afternoon's formal program, presenations were given by Crina Nimigean, PhD, and Peter Fleischut, MD, both from the Department of Anesthesiology. The guest speaker was Steven L. Shafer, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, at the Stanford University Medical Center. Dr. Shafer is also the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Anesthesia & Analgesia. There were 42 entrants in the poster session. The guest judge was Pamela Flood, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, Stanford University Medical Center. Dr. Flood and Dr. Shafer joined Weill Cornell Anesthesiology in assessing the posters of four finalists: Dr. Hiroshi Sunaga and Dr. James Littlejohn in Clinical Research and Dr. Peter Goldstein and Dr. Alessio Accardi in Laboratory Research. Drs. Littlejohn and Accardi were awarded first place in their respective categories.

The full program of speakers and list of poster finalists follows.


Faculty Oral Presentations

"Molecular Mechanisms of Potassium Channel Function”
Crina Nimigean, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physiology and Biophysics in Anesthesiology
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Weill Cornell Medical College

“Center for Perioperative Outcomes”
Peter Fleischut, M.D.
Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Weill Cornell Medical College
Director, Center for Perioperative Outcomes
Deputy Quality and Patient Safety Officer, New York-Presbyterian Hospital

Special Research Seminar

"Academic Misconduct"
Steven L. Shafer, M.D.
Professor of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine
Stanford University Medical Center


Clinical Research

First place
Implementation of Alert in the Electronic Medical Record Reduces Incidence of Non-OR Blood Transfusions for Hb > 8.0 G/Dl
Authors: James E. Littlejohn, Sean D. Till, Robert Green, Michael H. Nguyen, Peter M. Fleischut


Second place
CW 1759-50 An ultra-short acting nondepolarizer immediately antagonized at any time by L-cysteine
Authors: John J. Savarese, Hiroshi Sunaga, Matthew R. Belmont, Matthew T. Murrell, Paul M. Heerdt, Jeff McGilvra


Laboratory Research

First place
Ca2+-dependent phospholipid scrambling by a reconstituted TMEM16 ion channel
Authors: Mattia Malvezzi, Madhavan Chalat, Radmila Janjusevic, Alessandra Picollo, Hiroyuki Terashima, Anant K. Menon, Alessio Accardi


Second place
GABAA receptor-mediated tonic currents are reduced in cortical neurons in GABAA receptor α4 subunit knockout mice
Authors: Manoj K. Jaiswal, Sotirios T. Keros, Peter A. Goldstein


Contact Us

Dept. of Anesthesiology
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine
525 East 68th Street, Box 124
New York, NY 10065

Office of the Chair
Phone: (212) 746-2962
E-mail:  Office of the Chair, anesthesiology-chair@med.cornell.edu

Residency and Fellowship Education
Direct all inquiries to:
Phone: (212) 746-2941
E-mail: anes-programs@med.cornell.edu
For trainee verification inquiries: anes-verification@med.cornell.edu

Patient Billing Inquiries
Phone: (646) 962-5700