Exposition 2014-15

February 12, 2015

The Department of Anesthesiology's Tenth Annual Research Exposition was held on Thursday, February 12, 2015. The Department welcomed Robert A. Pearce, M.D., Ph.D., the Ralph W. Waters Distinguished Chair of Anesthesiology from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. Dr. Pearce was the guest speaker for the program, delivering the Special Research Seminar, as well as serving as the guest judge for the poster session.

The Tenth Annual Research Exposition featured a series of speakers. Daniel Cook, a fourth-year medical student working in Dr. Hugh Hemmings’ Lab, presented “Effects of isoflurane on presynaptic voltage-gated calcium channels coupled to exocytosis in hippocampal neurons.” He was followed by Peter Goldstein, M.D., Professor of Anesthesiology and Associate Professor of Medical Ethics, who presented, “HCN channels and neuropathic pain: Science and serendipity”. Dr. Goldstein was followed by a presentation by Alan Van Poznak, MD.,  Professor Emertius of Anesthesiology, who delivered a talk on the History of Department of Anesthesiology. Dr. Van Poznak was followed Dr. Pearce’s talk, the Special Research Seminar, entitled, “How anesthetics prevent learning - from molecules to memory.”

Following a brief reception, the Exposition moved to the M3 hallway, site of the Research Exposition Poster Session. Participants engaged four presenters in presentations. The finalists in the competition for the top posters were as follows:

Clinical Research

Evaluation of Diastolic Dysfunction in Patients Undergoing Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement
Authors: June M, Chan, Polydoros N. Kampaktsis, Fay Y. Lin, Ingrid M. Hriljac, Richard B. Devereux, Arash Salemi, Nikolaos J. Skubas
(First Prize – Clinical Research)

A Multistate Analysis of Readmission for Invasive Cardiac Surgeries
Authors: Zachary A. Turnball, Natalia S. Ivascu, Gregory P. Giambrone, Xian Wu, Licia Gaber-Baylis, Elizabeth Lemoine, Jonathan Eskreis-Winkler, Akshay U. Bhat, Ramin Zabih, Peter M. Fleischut

Laboratory Research

Recovery of Consciousness from Isoflurane Anesthesia is Mediated by a Structured Network of Discrete Intermediate Brain States
Authors: A.Hudson, D.P Calderon, D.W. Pfaff, A. Proekt
(First Prize – Laboratory Research)

Calcium-dependent Gating in MthK K+ Channels Occurs at the Selectivity Filter
Authors: David J. Posson, Radda Rusinova, Olaf S. Andersen, Crina M. Nimigean

The program was well-attended by faculty, fellows, residents, and laboratory staff.

View the complete program with all the poster presentations here:


Contact Us

Dept. of Anesthesiology
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine
525 East 68th Street, Box 124
New York, NY 10065

Office of the Chair
Phone: (212) 746-2962
E-mail:  Office of the Chair, anesthesiology-chair@med.cornell.edu

Residency and Fellowship Education
Direct all inquiries to:
Phone: (212) 746-2941
E-mail: anes-programs@med.cornell.edu
For trainee verification inquiries: anes-verification@med.cornell.edu

Patient Billing Inquiries
Phone: (646) 962-5700