Department Chair's Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Anesthesiology of Weill Cornell Medicine and NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital. We are part of a busy urban academic medical center providing advanced clinical care using state-of-the-art techniques, carrying out cutting-edge research, and training the next generation of anesthesiologists, intensivists and pain management specialists.

Founded in 1948 by Dr. Joseph F. Artusio, Jr. who served as chair until 1989, our department has a long and rich tradition of excellence in clinical care, teaching and research. I am proud to be associated with its continued growth and success, having taken the reins as chair from Dr. John. J. Savarese in 2013. We are committed to innovation in perioperative clinical care to maximize quality and efficiency in anesthesia, pain, and critical care, along with discovery and translation of novel therapies and healthcare delivery models in a thriving academic environment.

The department has expanded significantly over the past decade in its provision of clinical care, contributions to hospital administration, teaching within Weill Cornell Medicine at both the New York City and Qatar campuses and participation in clinical and basic science research. We are recognized and respected throughout our institution for our outstanding clinicians, educators and researchers. We have over 100 faculty with expertise in numerous anesthesia subspecialties and holding leadership positions in the major national and international societies and journals. Our anesthesia care team includes over 120 certified registered nurse anesthetists who provide outstanding care as we expanded to provide anesthesia care in more than 60 anesthetizing locations throughout the medical center and affiliate institutions.

Our education program is highlighted by our highly regarded residency program with positions for 82 physicians in training, including interns and residents. We also have ACGME-approved fellowships in pain management, critical care medicine and cardiothoracic anesthesia, and additional fellowships in thoracic anesthesia, regional anesthesia, and obstetric anesthesia. We also have a competitive Van Poznak Research Scholarship to foster the development of physician-scientists during residency training.

Research in the department is internationally recognized for its contributions to clinical pharmacology, ion channel biophysics, and experimental neurosciences, with a focus on mechanisms of anesthesia and pain, as well as clinical research in anesthetic pharmacology and cardiovascular physiology. Research in the department is supported by funding from the National Institutes of Health, National Science Foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research among others.

Our department offers the opportunity to practice, teach and discover anesthesia in a collegial environment that provides the widest variety of clinical cases found anywhere, with physicians and scientists who are specialists and leaders in their respective fields. We invite you to explore these pages further to get a taste of the quality and excitement that surrounds our department.

Hugh C. Hemmings, Jr., MD, PhD, FRCA
The Joseph F. Artusio, Jr. Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology

Contact Us

Dept. of Anesthesiology
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine
525 East 68th Street, Box 124
New York, NY 10065

Office of the Chair
Phone: (212) 746-2962
E-mail:  Office of the Chair,

Residency and Fellowship Education
Direct all inquiries to:
Phone: (212) 746-2941
For trainee verification inquiries:

Patient Billing Inquiries
Phone: (646) 962-5700