Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine appointments are available to our patients. Sign up for Connect today to schedule your vaccination. Continue your routine care with us by scheduling an in-person appointment or Video Visit.

Graduation: Celebrating Our Residency Class of 2021

The Department of Anesthesiology celebrated its graduating residents on Saturday night, June 5, in Central Park's beautiful Loeb Boathouse. Twenty residents were honored in a ceremony hosted by department Chair Dr. Hugh Hemmings, joined by Drs. Kane Pryor and Eric Brumberger. Dr. Pryor is the executive vice chair for academic affairs and Dr. Brumberger is the residency program director.  

The event, though limited in attendance following COVID guidelines, was a welcome gathering for a class that provided extraordinary leadership throughout the pandemic. In his opening remarks, Dr. Hemmings expressed  gratitude for the scientific advances that made the ceremony possible.

"It has truly been an enlightening journey for the class of 2021 with unprecedented challenges along the way, all of which made them both stronger and wiser," he said. "We can thank biomedical research for the rapid creation of an effective vaccine to allow us to gather as a group at last… this is a remarkable achievement for medicine, and is at the core of why we chose a career in medicine."

Following a video presentation, Dr. Brumberger addressed the class. 

"I think of each of you as a true hero. You’ve made me and your department unimaginably proud as you’ve traversed our hallways over these uniquely challenging years. On behalf of all of us here tonight, the countless others that supported you along the way, and those at work that have benefited from your talents, bravery, and resolve, I want to extend to you the most heartfelt and deepest thanks and congratulations." 

The evening continued with a recognition of each graduate, followed by awards to residents and faculty.

Congratulations to the department's 2021 graduates and award winners. They are: 

Class of 2021 Anesthesiology Residents

Ariel Anderson, MD
Alina Boltunova, MD
Joe Bryant-Huppert, MD
Justin Chung, MD
Joel Ehrenfeld, MD
Marguerite Hoyler, MD
Rohan Jotwani, MD
Michael Kim, MD
Sherry Liao, MD
Jimmy Lin, MD
Jyun-you Liou, MD
Ilisa Mackoy, MD
Ojas Mainkar, MD
Jie Min, MD
Vanessa Ng, MD
Maria Quincy, MD
Camille Roberts, MD
Olga Rozental, MD
Javier Sanchez, MD
Joelle Shosfy, MD

2021 Award Winners 

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center Teacher of the Year
Alessia Pedoto, MD

Hospital for Special Surgery Teacher of the Year
Stephanie Cheng, MD

Marjorie Topkins Award for NYPH Teacher of the Year
James Littlejohn, MD, PhD

Clinical Excellence in Regional Anesthesia Award on behalf of our Friends @HSS
Michael Kim, MD

Ronald A. Leff Award: Excellence in Clinical Teaching by a Resident
Michael Kim, MD

Research Awards
Margo Hoyler, MD
Rohan Jotwani, MD
Jyun-you Liou, MD

Sadel Wortis Klein Award: Excellence in Clinical Performance
Michael Kim, MD

Joseph F. Artusio Award: Outstanding Resident
Jimmy Lin, MD

Faculty Mentorship Award
Ralph Slepian, MD

Faculty Role Model Award
Matthew Murrell, MD, PhD

Faculty Professionalism Award (NYP-WCMC campus) 
Jaime Aaronson, MD

Faculty Professionalism Award (NYP-LMH campus)
Jason White, MD

Related Information: 

Alumni: Ways to Stay Connected

Contact Us

Dept. of Anesthesiology
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine
525 East 68th Street, Box 124
New York, NY 10065
Fax: (212) 746-8563

Office of the Chair
Phone: (212) 746-2962
E-mail:  Marissa Matarazzo,

Residency and Fellowship Education
Direct all inquiries to:
Phone: (212) 746-2941
For trainee verification inquiries:

Patient Billing Inquiries
Phone: (855) 880-0343