Dr. Richard Boyer Appointed Yao Research Scholar

Richard Boyer, MD, PhD has been appointed the inaugural Fun-Sun Frank and Baw-Chyr Peggy Yao Research Scholar in Anesthesiology. 

The appointment recognizes Dr. Boyer’s accomplishments as an early career biomedical engineer, anesthesiologist, and physician-scientist with experience as an innovator and with the translational applications of medical technology. 

“This honor recognizes Dr. Boyer’s outstanding potential as an anesthesiologist-scientist and inventor, and will support his career development through the generous support of the Yao Research Scholar Award,” said Dr. Hugh Hemmings, the Joseph F. Artusio Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology. 

Dr. Boyer, an assistant professor of anesthesiology, joined the Department of Anesthesiology as a Van Poznak Research Scholar. He was awarded an NIA/FAER GEMSSTAR grant for his research into the use of wearable technology as a means to assess the functional capacity of older adults prior to surgery.   

A graduate in biomedical engineering from Johns Hopkins University, Dr. Boyer attended the Medical Scientist Training Program at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine where he completed his PhD studies in biomedical engineering. He completed his residency in anesthesiology at Massachusetts General Hospital. 

About the Yao Research Scholar Award 

The Yao Research Scholar Award was established through the generous support of Dr. Fun-Sun Frank and Peggy Baw-Chyr Yao. Dr. Yao, a professor of clinical anesthesiology, joined the Department of Anesthesiology in 1973. In 2023, he celebrated his fiftieth anniversary with the department, and the fortieth anniversary of his renowned textbook, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology.

"This award recognizes the commitment of the Yaos to the department and their vision to further the academic careers of junior investigators in anesthesiology," remarked Hemmings. "Such landmark investments in the department by alumni insure the strong future of our missions in education, clinical care, research and service."  

Contact Us

Dept. of Anesthesiology
NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medicine
525 East 68th Street, Box 124
New York, NY 10065

Office of the Chair
Phone: (212) 746-2962
E-mail:  Office of the Chair, anesthesiology-chair@med.cornell.edu

Residency and Fellowship Education
Direct all inquiries to:
Phone: (212) 746-2941
E-mail: anes-programs@med.cornell.edu
For trainee verification inquiries: anes-verification@med.cornell.edu

Patient Billing Inquiries
Phone: (646) 962-5700